DCC semaphore signals

Out Of Puff1707822593

Hi all,

A quick question, and sorry if this is obvious. I'm interested in the option of DCC controlled semaphore signals (I was looking at the Dapol semaphores + train tech SC4 controller). However I am a complete electrical novice and I can't tell from the instructions how easy or complex this is. If it involves soldering then it's probably a no-go for me! Does anyone know how involved connecting the decoder to the signals and power actually is? Thanks so much

A DCC semaphore signal is quite a simple matter. You need a Triang/Hornby X404 point motor obtained second-hand from eBay and a Hornby single signal. There is a piece of plastic into which the signal and the point motor fit. The point motor operates the signal. You will need an Accessories Decoder such as R8247 to control the point via your DCC system. The Dapol semaphores are exceedingly expensive and are only worth the money if you are a serious modeller constructing a layout intended for a permanent exhibition.

forum_image_61d8a85e13f98.thumb.png.1e9c5126759eb25affd84bafa5033389.png

forum_image_61d8a8622acb4.thumb.png.58d253ca3cfa0f8bea7dcf1ef47965a8.png

The Dapol semaphore signal operates on an on-up, on-down, on-up, on-down repeat pulse principle so you have to choose your accessory decoder carefully.

Using manual switching this could be a single press to make push button switch. Each press cycles the signal from up to down to up, etc.

A normal acc decoder works on the on-one way or on-other way principle, so tend to be unsuited for Dapol signals.

Personally, I find the Hornby Semaphore signal suggested by Bexhill Donkey over scale and more suited to an 0 Guage layout. Yes the Dapols are quite expensive, but in my opinion look perfectly prototypical and in scale. I for one would pay the extra for the Dapol system for which the TT SC3/4 decoders are specifically designed to operate.