Have a Peep tell me if DCC wiring for this PECO section will work please.

wapples

Hi All. Spoke to PECO whom gave me a home drawn diagram and then I tried to interpret it through Railmodeller so could you please confirm that the Location of the wiring and the INSUL JOINERS are in the right place. This section will all be PECO code 100 using standard DCC Concepts IP point motors with the sniffer (no block detection) The rest of the track is Just HORNBY using the HORNBY DCC POINT clips just making sure that if i go ahead with this it will work and not interfere with the rest of the layout. Cheers

forum_image_624b74aec6280.thumb.png.a30fd3a7d7ba1ae9644d2dc9a7dc640b.png

EMAIL from PECO

forum_image_624b74b23e2d6.thumb.png.976859b434fcad5828594728633d2c3a.png

It looks OK to me as in general the IRJs go on the frog rail ends, but I am no expert on electrofrog points. I would suggest you compare your given solution with that of Brian Lambert - links to his site here https://uk.hornby.com/community/forum/useful-links

Brian has covered every combination of track frog types in various configurations, so it should be a simple exercise to compare yours with his.

Basically you need to put an insulated joiner on each rail going to the frog of the point. When the point switches it puts a direct short across the other outlet of the point so you have to insulate to avoid this happening.

SL-## indicates insulfrog points, SLE-## would indicate electrofrog points, looks like you are building your station with insulfrog points?