R8247 ports

Jailor

Hi to all. Track built now, 7 point motors arrived and R8247 decoder on order. Some of you will remember I am very new to this great hobbie and now have a few more questions.

Firstly is Anyone in the know as to when this unit will be in stock? On the web I am seeing dates possibly ( hate possibly) October but have been told September by the company I have ordered from.

Now I must appoligise to you old hands as I am sure you are sick of this question, but to a newbie it is a bit confusing. I am reading on various forums that you can only wire up two point motors to each port. But I am also finding posts that say you can wire four per port giving a total of sixteen motors on one decoder. Obviously I do not want to damage anything so would appreciate your wise words. 

If you can only wire two motors to a port why does each port have four addressees hence my confusion.

Many thanks as always for any advise.

Ron.

R

Ron. Each decoder has 4 outputs or ports. You program each port to have one address and they are addressed in a group like 1,2,3,4 or 5,6,7,8 etc. if you are using Select, they can only start from 61,62,63,64 etc. 

each port is capable of firing 2 points, but only if you want both to fire together all of the time like on a crossover from one track to the next. So mostly you will only have one point per port. 

There are also many alternative Decoders available and info on heaps of them in the forums. Do a search on ADS8 and Kato for a start. Both of these are easier to program than the 8247 and the ADS8 has 8 ports.