Help please! I'm new.

russell_hinton

Dear Forum

I apologise for any silly questions I am about to ask. I am a complete novice with model railway. I bought my eight year old son the Hornby R1126 Mixed Freight set plus Hornby track packs B, C and D for his birthday today. Unfortunately I have not been able to get the set to work as I had hoped.

Firstly, whenever I used the points to move the train from the outer oval to a connected inner one the train would cross a set  of points and then stop completely. 

Secondly, I was unable to get two the two trains to run at the same time which I believe I should be able to do with the digital set up. Can anyone help by telling me where I am going wrong or is the set faulty? I wondered if I needed the digital electric point clips to solve the first issue?

Kind regards

Russell

Hi welcome to the forum. Yes you need the R8232 point clips. The point/turnout you get with the set should have two point clips already installed just copy the way they are installed with the new point clips. The R8232 comes with twenty clips and is about £4.

Hope this helps. 

hi, welcome to  f orum, they appear to have cleared up your point problems. Unless i am mistaken, the locos  will both have been factory supplied with CV03, which will show on your select controller. If this is the case, one will need a new number, for them both to run. When you put one on the track does the select say 03. When you change them over, does it still say 03. If so , you need to change one, or if you intend to buy more, both. Come back and confirm what happens , then we can talk you through the rest, if it is necessary. To do this, you need a couple of rails joined up to make a programming track, but report back, first. john

The locos come factory set to 1 and 2 from looking at a video John.

You will need to insert the point clips to make the whole layout live Russell. Sometimes they can be found on the underside of the main packaging.