Cannot programme R8247 from Elink

renard80

Newbie here, trying to set up R8247 accessory decoder to operate points.  I've followed the manual instructions until instructed to click on the pen icon to "write to decoder". 

But nothing happens when I click that "write" icon. Nothing at all. (Incidentally,  I don't understand "Delay 15" in top right corner. )

I'm using Elink with Railmaster software.  The decoder is connected to the Elink's PROG output. 

After more than 3 hours tearing hair and searching online with no joy, I would greatly appreciate any advice. 

Sounds to me like you have a faulty 8247 Fox, email RM Support from within the Help window of RM and they will be able to confirm.

As a matter of interest, is the 8247 bought new recently or have you been hanging onto it for some time?

Thanks, Fishman.  It's new, bought from Hornby three weeks ago.

renard80, this problem had me going too!

What I found was that Railmaster will not programme the R8247 decoder unless you actually type in the first "output port no.". Even if you want it to be "1" you MUST type it in. When you press the write to decoder button you will now see a "programming accessory decoder" window pop up.

Try this and post back how you get on. By the way, you do not need to change the "15 second delay", its only to do with the speed of programming, not the functionality of the R8247.

Good luck :-)

What I found was that Railmaster will not programme the R8247 decoder unless you actually type in the first "output port no.". Even if you want it to be "1" you MUST type it in. When you press the write to decoder button you will now see a "programming accessory decoder" window pop up.

Try this and post back how you get on. By the way, you do not need to change the "15 second delay", its only to do with the speed of programming, not the functionality of the R8247.

You are a star!  I entered the 1 as you suggested,  and thereafter the installation went ahead successfully!