21TXS how many functions? Cannot control carriage lights.

Hi,

I have a Dapol Class 122 and installed a 21TXS decoder.

The issue I am having is that the carriage lights are always on and I can only control the dim, I cannot turn them off.

Model instructions state how it works, but no luck in turning off the carriage lights. - Please see attached picture of instructions and how it should work.

Any ideas what the issue is?

Thanks.

20240427_182631.jpg

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, 96RAF said:

TXS decoder is a logic level output on HFOs 5 and 6 so cannot drive lighting loads direct.

Thanks @96RAF. I am not sure what that means. I am quite new to this. ☺️

Edited by Trainzer

@Trainzer a logic level output essentially means one that commands/instructions can be sent to (hence you seeing minor lighting dimness changes.)  But it is not a full output (with a completely independent circuit) - hence no on/off control.

If you want complete control of all lights, your only realistic* option is to use a different decoder that has 5/6 full functions.  

*someone comfortable with diy electronics would say there is another alternative: attach a relay between the logic outputs & carriage lighting circuit  - but this requires knowledge/skill, (and willingness to potentially risk voiding warranties) that is outside the majority of people’s comfort zone!

• Thanks 1

2 minutes ago, LTSR_NSE said:

@Trainzer a logic level output essentially means one that commands/instructions can be sent to (hence you seeing minor lighting dimness changes.)  But it is not a full output (with a completely independent circuit) - hence no on/off control.

If you want complete control of all lights, your only realistic* option is to use a different decoder that has 5/6 full functions.