Layout electrical connection problem.

philandsue

I am still fairly new to the hobby. I set up my layout initially so that it was end to end with run round loops at each end - similar to a heritage railway. At the end where the electric connector from the elite controller was situated I fitted a point to the loop to enable two locos to go in the engine shed on 2 tracks. I was delighted when this worked because it meant I didn't have to go into the whole business of wiring underneath the baseboard.

It worked well for sometime. Over the weekend I tried to make minor adjustments to the engine shed lines. Now locos will only go down one track, the other appears to be dead. Can anyone suggest what is wrong.

Without seeing a picture of the layout and where your connections are, it is difficult to comment but I would suggest if it worked before you made changes, that you look carefully at the changes you made, maybe even reverting to what it was like when it did work and going from there.

Do you have the clips positioned correctly in the offending point as clearly the branch that isn't working is not receiving power. another option other than the clips is to directly power both branches from your controller.

I set up my layout initially so that it was end to end with run round loops at each end...........

This statement infers that you have created a 'reverse loop' at each end of the layout. Reverse loops create short circuits. But ignoring that for a moment and concentrating on your siding issue. As RDS has said, in order to offer you correctly targeted advice we really need to see a sketch of the complete layout plan showing where controller power is connected to the track with an indication of where the power is lost. Note that posted images will be held back for moderator approval and will not appear straight away.