Rookie question: powering multiple tracks using turnouts?

JS84Z

Hi all

I'm new to powering tracks and stuff. Basically I want to have 2 loops of tracks and I want both of them to receive electricity from the one DCC controller at the same time using minimal wiring. Is it possible to extend electricity from 1st track to the 2nd track via a turnout? Would that cause problems such as short circuiting etc?

Yes you can get clips which fit into the points so that both exits from the point become permanently live. Hornby code is R8232. I use them, so far without any problem, whereas some folk prefer to feed power direct from the controller to all sections of the track.

Yes you can get clips which fit into the points so that both exits from the point become permanently live. Hornby code is R8232. I use them, so far without any problem, whereas some folk prefer to feed power direct from the controller to all sections of the track.

Do brands sell turnouts that are made “live” already with these clips?

Also, if you feed power directly from the controller to all the tracks, that means the turnouts need to be insulated when they join the tracks together right?

@John

No and No.

You may find pre-clipped tracks in some digital train sets but no one to my knowledge sells points that are live to both ways.

DCC track is meant to be all live, hence use of what I call bodge clips in lieu of either link wires or bus wiring.

Just remember those clips are steel and not good conductors, so they can get hot if passing high currents to feed several locos across a point.

John,

It sounds as if you might benefit from reading Chapters 5 & 6 in my downloadable 'Getting Started' PDF document. Chapter 5 describes powering a basic Hornby layout for DC Analogue, and Chapter 6 describes the powering of the same basic layout for DCC. In other words the basic differences between the two control systems.

The PDF download can be found here: