E-link boot up behaviour with point motors?

I've been using Railmaster/e-link for a few months now and there is one thing that I have just been taking for granted, but probably should ask about.

When I switch on e-link (whether or not Railmaster is running, so nothing to do with RM), the lowest numbered point motor (all mine are Cobalt Digital IP) throws all the way in one direction, then all the way in the second direction, and then most of the way in the original direction.

Is this normal behaviour?

As long as I switch e-link on before starting RM, the RM option to set points ensures that this point is completely set before I run trains, but if I have a short and need to switch e-link off and back on after clearing it without also restarting RM, I sometimes forget about the point and derail a train. Hence wondering if it is just normal and I should continue to live with it, or if I have something set up wrong and need to investigate further. I have already tried renumbering points (i.e. setting new IDs and changing the track plan to match) and if a different point motor becomes the lowest numbered it will throw instead of the normally lowest one.

I can appreciate that some self-diagnostics on startup is a good idea, but why throw the point 2.9 times and not 1, 2 or 3 times?

What happens if you press the eLink reset button - a small red square in the big red stop button in RM. do you get the initial start or restart symptom.

Do you have reset eLink on startup enabled in your .ini file.

E-link goes through the same routine with the points every time whether I use the red reset button or switch the power off and on again.

Reset e-link on startup is disabled in the ini file, but I can't see how it would be relevant since e-link goes through the routine every time even if railmaster isn't running or the USB lead is unplugged.