How many DCC controllers do I need - (Was Steam generator 'oil')

Ian-1301567

Another topic you could help me with has I'm new to DCC Controllers as I was wondering has to the amount of track carriageway you can use with 1 DCC Controller with 2 Controls is it just say 2 looped tracks and if using points that you would have to get the polarity correct when crossing over to another track.

So in essence if I had 4 Carriageway of track side-by-side I would have to buy 2 DCC Controllers with the 2 Variable Controls?,

Edited by 96RAF
Topic split, retitled and moved into its own thread

You only ever use 1 DCC controller across the whole layout - multiple would cause damage to each other.

If your layout is extremely large you may need to use boosters connected to the 1 controller.

Edit - with certain DCC controllers you can connect multiple handsets into 1 base unit (so that multiple people can control trains simultaneously) however that still uses only 1 base unit sending/receiving all the signals through the track.

Edited by LTSR_NSE

3 minutes ago, LTSR_NSE said:

You only ever use 1 DCC controller across the whole layout - multiple would cause damage to each other.

If your layout is extremely large you may need to use boosters connected to the 1 controller.

So how do these boosters connect to multiple tracks?

1 minute ago, Ian-1301567 said:

So how do these boosters connect to multiple tracks?

You couldn't send us a sketch on how to connect up multiple carriageway of track using these boosters to the 1 DCC Controller to give us an idea?

How big is your layout?

Boosters are not needed for multiple oval tracks on a baseboard - they are only necessary if you have a massive layout e.g. running through several rooms of your house or exhibition size!

Edited by LTSR_NSE

Repeating the question, how big is your layout?