D-Day Operation Overlord Gift Set

JohnWJ

I'm completely new to modelling and about to buy my first kit, the Operation Overlord gift set. Before I do I'd like to try and sort out what scale it is. In the bottom left of the box it states 1:76, however, the smaller print states the Higgins LCVP and Wil ly's MB Jeep are both 1:72. The technical information on the website also states 1:72.

I'd be very grateful if someone could clarify which scale it is.

If I happen to enjoy making this model, and if I happen to do okay, then I may purchase other D-Day diorama's to expand the display, and I obviously want to stick with the same scale throughout.

Thanks in advance.

@ John

Two things to bear in mind about scale.

One, a 1/72 model is bigger than a 1/76 scale model in all three dimensions. So the overall size difference is that the 1/72 is (76/72)^3 as big as a 1/76, i.e. it is 118% of the size. It is about seven-sixths of the size.

Two, not all scale models are scale accurate. Some supposedly 1/72 models are 1/71, some are 1/75 and others are a different scale in each dimension. That last is actually quite common. There have been three different 1/76 StuG III models (Airfix, Fujimi, Nitto) and they're all a different width. Revell OTOH makes a 1/72 Jagdpanther and a 1/76 ex-Matchbox Jagdpanther and they're almost the same size.

So: be prepared for some surprises.

I had no idea they were that varied John and from what you've said, this is an issue across all brands. It's obviously something that you modellers are well used to and something I'll have to accept too. It's good to know though ... thank you.

• 1 month later...