Positive and negative

simon_young

Positive and negative

Can I ask what is probably a stupid question.

I am new to model railways and was wondering, on a DCC setup which track is positive and which is negative?

The connection to the track are always connected via black and red connections, red being the B connection and black the A from the controller, can I assume that B is positive?

The red and black wires are only there to make sure that if you add extra power feeds you connect the same coloured wire to each rail. There's no such thing as positive and negative in DCC, but if you mix up the wires when putting more track feeds in you will get a short circuit.

It's the same with DC too. Positive and negative change when you change the direction of the locomotive.

Here's a useful hint. Put a piece of red tape on one side of a wagon and a black piece on the other side if you wish. Put the wagon on the track and push it round/along the layout. Always put the red wires the same side as the red tape and the black ones the same side as the black tape. Don't take the wagon off the track in case you put it back round the other way. 

This, or the red pen mark beside the track, is a good idea Simon, you would be surprised how easy it is to get mixed up. R-

My apologies WTD - I seem to have replied to you instead of Simon. Thanks Hornby for the ability to edit. 

I've just finished wiring my new layout which is a simple oval with a passing loop. I just followed my own rule of Red to outside rail(s) and Black to inside rails(s). I used some spare household 2.5mm cable for the track bus and connected it like a ring main so hopefully no voltage drop on that lot! The only soldering I've done is to the drop wires at rail end and fish plates, all other connections are by screw terminals. Just tested it with an analogue controller and all OK. Next job is to wire in the point motors and live frogs - then connect up to DCC.

I totally agree.