HM7000 Double Head Setup

I've never done this before and I'm new in DCC. What should I do if I want to set up a double head configuration, for example, a leading steam loco with a supporting diesel at the other end? Much appreciated!

In an ideal world on traditional DCC you would consist the two DCC locos together under a single address, but as I understand it HM7000 does not yet support consisting.
Also, when consisting two different models of loco it's important that they are well "speed matched" so that one doesn't try and pull or push the other. with traditional DCC that's done by programming and adjusting the speed tables in the decoders, but I don't know if/how you do that with the HM7000 decoders? 

Edited by ntpntpntp

You can set up consisting on the decoders in DCC mode. CV19 is the consist address.

Consisting from the app is not possible yet but is being included at the next app update.

Your choice is run them as a consist under DCC control now or wait for the app update which will make the job easier.

Thank you! I started from DC and jumped straight to HM7000, I'm starting to think I should also get a Hornby DCC select controller with the HM7000 Bluetooth dongle for better compatibility.

1 hour ago, Cedric HK said:

Thank you! I started from DC and jumped straight to HM7000, I'm starting to think I should also get a Hornby DCC select controller with the HM7000 Bluetooth dongle for better compatibility.

That would allow you to operate regular decoders via the app or direct from the Select adding versatility.

There are quite a few available second hand on eBay at varying prices. Worth factoring in an additional £15 to pay Hornby to upgrade the firmware. It’s easy and painless to do that. 

2 hours ago, ntpntpntp said:

Not having investigated the dongle - is that capable of driving the legacy decoder(s) via the consist address?