HM7000-6

Hi, I'm fairly new to the hobby and want to go completely with HM7000.  I have an 08 and a back-ordered HM7000-6.

Just wondering how long they are likely to be, It's hard getting a firm answer from my local supplier.

Anyone got one in stock?

Tim

@Tim-1330659 - the 6pin HM7k decoder is (as far as anyone can tell) still in development/production.

According to the website current ETA is end of September - however estimates can obviously be subject to unforeseen change/delays.

So nobody is going to have stock for a while yet.

Morning Tim

You’re not the only one longing for HM7k with the 08! But it’s definitely going to be a while. I keep hoping that Hornby will spring a nice surprise and get them in stock early, but from RAFs comment we can’t expect any such miracles!

What's the problem with the 08? I'm assuming it's the Class 08 being referred to, in which case an 8 pin full TXS sound decoder fits easily, plus stay alive.

Or is the OP on TT120, in which case I can't comment.

Edited by Brew Man

Just now, Brew Man said:

What's the problem with the 08? I'm assuming it's the Class 08 being referred to, in which case an 8 pin full TXS sound decoder fits easily, plus stay alive.

Not if it's the TT 08 - the changes necessary to fit an 8-pin sound decoder into that would defeat many of us.

I spoke to George (the HM7000 guru) at Rails on Friday. It's the world-wide chip shortage that isn't helping the delay. If you're waiting for the bluetooth chip (DCC is possible with standard chips) the current situation suggests it's going to be close to the year end when they're available in the shops, at the earliest.

It's annoying to me as I'm solely HM7000 and, apart from running in using DC when it first arrived, my Class 08 is still in the box. I'll probably not be able to use it properly until after the warranty either runs out, or is close to it.

• Like 1
  • Sad 1